GAA MacNamee Awards Website of the Year 2016

Minor Player of the Year 2020 - Paddy Gavin

  • News

The 2020 GAA season was different to any in living memory because of the pandemic that engulfed our world, however the GAA did manage to operate for a period.  The 2020 Young Player of the year excelled in this period that football was played as he has for many years throughout his under-age career. His family is steeped in the playing history of the club. His father had probably the most famous knee bandage ever in the club!

This young Clonown man has all the hall marks of a senior player for the club. In fact, he has already made his debut at senior level in 2021.  

He has represented Roscommon footballers at Minor level in 2019 & and recently helped the county U20’s reach the 2021 All Ireland final v Offaly.  He has also represented both his secondary schools (St. Aloysius & Colaiste Chiarain) at all levels. He helped Colaiste Chiarain to win a Connacht Colleges C title in 2018.


Always popular amongst his peers, his intelligent, skillful, all action and determined play, are some of the reasons he was chosen by his peers to receive this award.  He has contested county finals at U-12, U-14 & Minor but it took until just a few weeks ago for him to win his first County title with Clann when the team won the delayed 2020 Junior A County Final where he gave another impressive display. He has always been a pleasure to deal with as a player and is always willing to listen and learn and is willing to add positive input where necessary.


There is no doubt that this young man will go on to represent Clann na nGael at adult level for many years to come, and hopefully add some more adult medals to his collection. 


For his outstanding performances in the Clann na nGael jersey in 2020, the award for the Clann na nGael Young Player of the Year 2020, and recipient of the Mike Durney Memorial trophy goes to:

Patrick Gavin





Clann na nGael

Clann na nGael GAA Club
Co. Roscommon.
N37 DX94

Website by This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. © 2021