Clann na nGael GAA Club, Co. Roscommon

MacNamee Awards GAA Website of the Year 2016

Senior Ladies Player of the Year 2017

This year’s recipient started her ladies Gaelic Football playing career at an early age. She represented her School, Club and County. She won many honours with the club over the years. She has won one under 12, one U-14, one Intermediate County Championship in 2012, one senior sevens shield Connacht title in 2014 and one Senior League medal in 2015. She was a key player on the Roscommon county team that won National League Division 4 honours in 2014.

A nurse by trade this girl applies the same dedication and attention to detail to her job as to her football career. She has been one of the most dedicated and leading lights of the Clann Senior ladies, as she made the natural transition from underage prodigy to senior star.

It is brilliant to watch her hunger and determination in action. Her energy and enthusiasm is evident at every session. Her leadership both on and off the pitch is second to none. Her all-round qualities, her versatility and commitment to the team gave us no doubt but to call this player up to captain this talented bunch of girls last year. She took on this role as expected, led by example, pushed herself to her limits and challenged the girls along with her. She always had words of wisdom for her team-mates and is a role model to have within the club. Nothing was too much to ask from this player during the year. She rarely missed a session even though she may have been caught up with work or other commitments. Not only did this player captain her team superbly this year but she also showed tremendous leadership qualities in moving shifts to fit in around matches and training.

We want to wish her the very best for her remaining football career, no doubt she has plenty of years left in her yet. The girls are looking forward to having her back in the engine room again for the battle ahead.

The Clann na nGael “Senior Ladies Player of the Year for 2017” and deserving recipient of the Gloria Walsh memorial trophy is awarded to:

Ruth Finlass